Essendon Senior Team 1938 (SLV 122_238)

Charles Boyles Collection SLV

Link to Photo at SLV Website
SLV Accession no. H2008.122/238

Team: Essendon (VFL)
Location: Windy Hill, Essendon
Date: 21 May 1938

(Full player list, including those obscured in damaged area
Back:Ray Watts, Leo Maynes, Hugh Torney, Tom Reynolds, Les Begley, Bob Standfield, Norm Baker, Ted Rippon
Middle: Murray Exelby, Stan Wilson, Harry Lippiatt, Len Webster, Dick Reynolds, Bill Luff, Arnold Maltby
Front: Billy Hall, Jack Caesar, Ted Bryce


This is Essendon’s (VFL) First Eighteen, either 1938 or 1939. Essendon’s greatest-ever identity Dick Reynolds is seated in the middle row.

Bad emulsion damage on left of photo obscures two or three players. The player first on left in front row is in 122_126 - Probably Essendon Seconds team - circa 1939. Packed grandstand. Seems to be the Essendon grandstand.

Further Work Needed

1986.1170.1021 Identifies it as 1938 – Written on Photo.

Ted Rippon cleared to Carlton in June 1939

Robert Meredith identified that "the only time those 18 played in the same team was Round 5, 1938 v South Melbourne (21 May 1938.)" - See AFL Tables. Meredith also supplied a copy of a photo, including the frame, taken on the same day with the player names written on it. See 1938 Bombers - Robert Meredith

Dick Reynolds won 1938 Brownlow Medal

Duplicates - Near Identical Photos

1170_1021 - Essendon Senior Team 1938
122_238 - Essendon Senior Team 1938 - This Image
1938 Bombers - From Robert Meredith - With Frame

What's New

More Articles

Ken and Michael are proud members of the Australian Football Heritage Group (AFHG)
This site is an independent creation. Site content and views expressed are personal and are not endorsed by the AFHG.

Read our comments regarding Sharing Your Football Memorabilia - Donating Items to your Club


Boyles Photos by Year//Interesting Games
1890s, 1900s, 1910s, 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s

Outside Football

General links to footballers' occupations and links to other sports.
Links to Outside Football