Footscray (VFA)

At the start of the 1925 season, three Clubs (North Melbourne, Hawthorn and Footscray) moved from the VFA competiton to the VFL competiton. For information on Footscray after they changed to the VFL see Footscray (VFL).

Many records such as, lists of captains, games played etc often only list records starting from when the team joined the VFL. For example, Alan Hopkins is often listed as playing 151 Senior games for Footscray, whereas he also played the 1923 and 1924 VFA seasons for Footscray and notched up many more games and goals.

Footscray won 9 premierships in the VFA:
  • 1898, 1899, 1900
  • 1908
  • 1913
  • 1919, 1920
  • 1923, 1924


1924 Captain Coach Con McCarthy


Reference_ VFL Premiers vs VFA Premiers 1924

What's New

More Articles

Ken and Michael are proud members of the Australian Football Heritage Group (AFHG)
This site is an independent creation. Site content and views expressed are personal and are not endorsed by the AFHG.

Read our comments regarding Sharing Your Football Memorabilia - Donating Items to your Club


Boyles Photos by Year//Interesting Games
1890s, 1900s, 1910s, 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s

Outside Football

General links to footballers' occupations and links to other sports.
Links to Outside Football